The Till & McCulloch Award

Photo credit: Lucas Oleniuk/Toronto Star

In 2005, the Stem Cell Network inaugurated the Till & McCulloch Award in honour of Canadians Drs. James Till and Ernest McCulloch, whose pioneering work established the field of stem cell research. Each year, the Stem Cell Network awards the Till & McCulloch Award to one researcher in Canada in recognition of his or her exceptional contributions to global stem cell research in that year. Researchers are nominated through a public process, and the Selection Committee chooses the awardee based on what is determined to be the year’s most influential peer-reviewed article by a Canadian stem cell researcher.

The award is presented at the annual Till & McCulloch Meetings and is accompanied by the delivery of the Till & McCulloch Lecture.

See a list of past recipients.


Nomination and Selection Process

Any researcher working in Canada in the stem cell field who had published a scientific finding in a peer reviewed journal between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014 was eligible for the 2014 Award. The deadline for nominations has passed, and the winner of the 2014 Award will be announced at the 2014 Till & McCulloch Meetings in Ottawa, Ontario.


The 2014 Till and McCulloch Award

Dr. Michael Rudnicki, Senior Scientist and Director of the Regenerative Medicine Program at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute and Scientific Director of the Stem Cell Network, has been selected for the 2014 Till & McCulloch Award in recognition of his contribution to global understanding of muscle stem cells and muscle development. One article was cited in Dr. Rudnicki's nomination:

  • von Maltzahn J, Jones AE, Parks RJ, Rudnicki MA. "Pax7 is critical for the normal function of satellite cells in adult skeletal muscle." Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. 2013 Oct 8;110(41):16474-9.

Dr. Rudnicki will accept the award and present a lecture entitled “Molecular regulation of muscle stem cell function” on Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at 9:50 a.m. at the Westin Ottawa hotel as part of the 2014 Till & McCulloch Meetings, Canada’s premier stem cell conference.